How to delete your Instagram account 2022
How to delete your Instagram account by following these steps. Also, how to download your Instagram data and temporarily disable your Instagram account.
How to delete your Instagram account 2022
You’d think it would be equally easy to delete your Instagram account, given how easy it is to sign up for an Instagram account, but you’d be wrong. In this post, we’ll show you how to deactivate your Instagram account if you’re just taking a break from Instagram. If you don’t want to lose your Instagram photos or posts forever, we’ll show you how to download a copy.
How to permanently delete your Instagram account
The delete Instagram account option is for those who are seeking a permanent and irreversible method of deleting their Instagram account. You will need to delete all your photos, videos, comments, likes, and followers.
It’s not possible to delete your Instagram account from the Instagram app. Even deleting it from Instagram on your mobile or desktop browser will be impossible. Instagram has conveniently embedded a specific page deep within its Help Pages where you can permanently delete your account.
- You can delete your account from your mobile device or computer by visiting this specific ‘Delete your account’ page.
- Your Instagram account can only be deleted if you are logged into the app on your browser.
- If you decide to delete your Instagram account, Instagram will provide you with some alternatives.
- To delete the Instagram account, click on Delete [your username].
The process of deleting your account takes 30 days. If you decide to change your mind, you have 30 days to do so.
What happens to your Instagram data when you delete your account
While your account information is still accessible by Instagram, it won’t be visible to other Instagram users during the 30-day deletion period.
How to download your Instagram pictures before deleting your Instagram account
Take a backup of your Instagram data before deleting your account. You can download your information from Instagram’s website or app.
Downloading your Instagram data on the mobile app:
Android and iOS users can download their Instagram data in the mobile app by following the same steps.
- On your profile page, tap the three lines at the top right of the screen.
- To download your information, tap Your Activity and scroll down to the bottom.
- Select Request download, then enter your email address where your data should be sent.
- Passwords will be required later.
- We will send your data to the email you provided. You can download the data by following the instructions in this email.
Downloading your Instagram data from a computer or mobile browser:
Follow these steps to download Instagram data from your computer or mobile device.
- By clicking your profile image in the top right corner, you can access your profile.
- Select Settings, then Privacy and security.
- You can request a download of data by scrolling down the page and clicking the Request download link.
- Select whether you’d like to receive your data in HTML or JSON format, and enter an email address.
- Lastly, enter your Instagram password and select Request download to receive your data.
How to take a break from Instagram without deleting your account
Taking a break from Instagram but not deleting your account permanently is possible by deactivating or temporarily disabling your account.
If you temporarily disable or deactivate your account, Instagram will hide your photos, comments, and likes until you log back in. Deactivating and reactivating your Instagram account can only be done from a computer or mobile browser, just like deleting your Instagram account.
- You can access your Instagram account at instagram.com by logging in.
- You can access your settings by clicking your profile picture in the top right corner.
- To temporarily disable my account, scroll down to the bottom.
- The next step is to choose a reason for disabling your account and enter your password.
Reactivating your Instagram account requires logging back in.
There you have it. Your Instagram account can now be permanently disabled and deleted. If you’ve forgotten your password, you will need to reset or recover it before you start the deletion process.